The Beautiful Chaste Tree

chaste1

Chaste Tree (Vitex agnus-castus)

I’ve been admiring the lovely chaste tree for some time, but only planted my own last summer. It was about two feet high and had only two stems on it at that time. This year, it has branched out like crazy and is close to five feet tall. The flowers are a wonderful shade of lavender, and to me, this little tree makes up for the fact that we can’t grow buddleia (butterfly bush) in central Florida worth a diddly. 

The chaste tree is so named because in medieval times, it was believed you could make a potion from it that would curb the libido. Oh, those medieval husbands! Apparently, they were always worried about what their wives would get up to while they were away crusading or jousting or whatever the heck they were doing. This would have been another tool in their arsenal—along with the infamous chastity belt, I guess—to control their women-folk. (It’s totally erroneous, of course! As if!!) Seems to me, it would have been easier just to stay home and be good husbands, but what do I know of those times? I’m old . . . but not THAT old! 🙂

I particularly like how my tree’s lavender blooms look next to my Abraham Darby rose. And when the plumbago between them is flowering, I have a nice little pink and blue bed going there. So far, the tree seems to be easy to care for, although it is deciduous and loses every leaf in winter, so you would want to keep that in mind when you decide where to plant yours. (You will be getting one, won’t you? How can you resist?)

Here are some closer views. 

chaste3

And one more. Notice the monarch butterfly? I never saw it until I opened the picture at 100%. I knew bumblebees were fond of these flowers. Now I know butterflies like them as well. What could be better?

chaste4

My plan is to limb the tree as it grow, so I get a nice “umbrella,” and can grow smaller plants beneath it. These trees usually top out at ten to twenty feet, though I’ve never seen one around here more than twelve or so. I’m looking forward to watching it grow. 

Do you have a chaste tree in your yard? How has it done for you? Do you have one of the lavender or blue varieties, or do you grow the pink or white ones? Inquiring minds wanna know!

8 thoughts on “The Beautiful Chaste Tree

  1. Hi, Yes I have four chaste trees in my yard. I love them. I first came in contact with them when I worked in a florist shop/nursery as a floral designer. I love the lavender blooms, and even more, I love the smell of the foliage. Crush, or even rub, the leaves between your fingers. The smell is beautiful…to some…others don’t care for it much. The owners of the shop pulled a sprig that had self-seeded out of a flower bed for me. It is still growing in my yard, although it has never done as well as the ones I grew from seed myself. These bushes have completely overtaken the pulled sprout in size. I have four chaste bushes in my yard at the present time. Here in New Jersey they are not blooming yet, but one of them has a cardinal nest within it’s branches. Great blog…I’m going to enjoy looking though your posts. Kathy

    Like

    • Hi, Kathy! Welcome to the blog! I hope you will enjoy yourself here. I’ve been somewhat slow in posting recently, as I’m involved in another project, but it will pick up soon, and in the meantime, you can check out older posts.

      I just love this little chaste tree of mine! I’m limbing it up underneath, hoping for a nice umbrella shape, so I can still plant or sit containers under it, and create a “second story” of blooms. It was very slow to leaf out this spring, for Florida trees/plants. I thought it was dead, actually, but when it began to open leaves, they just exploded. And they are such big, pretty leaves, too. I will have to check the fragrance. I love anything that smells herbal and “green.” Thanks for sharing that info with me. My husband says we are going to get raided when it quits blooming because the leaves look like marijuana plants! 😯

      I never even thought about saving the seeds, too. I’m going to do that. It wouldn’t hurt my feelings to have several more of these, especially since the bees and butterflies and hummers love it so much.

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. Always nice to meet a fellow gardener.

      Like

Say Hello To Granny!

