As It Once Was…

Sigh.  I’m still so sad about losing our trees.  The loss of their shade and beauty is even worse than the frustration over having been treated badly by the removal company, and having to clean up the mess.  It will never feel the same to me without the majesty of these huge trees.  I WILL, of course, be doing some major gardening and beautification of the area, but it will never even begin to make up for losing the oaks. Here are a few photos to show you what we have lost.

Shortly after we had moved in, before I painted the faux bricks white.  Three of the larger tree bases…all gone now…show here. The one on the left actually gets bigger farther up, where a very wide fork developed. 

Another view of the bromeliad bed in its infancy. That hedge in the background is now about twelve feet tall, and completely hides the view of the road and the houses on the other side.

View of the clump of oak trees from the street, about a year after we moved in.  It’s early spring and they haven’t gotten their full complement of leaves yet, though they are never bare, being an evergreen species.  You can see better in this picture how massive the trunk of the tree on the far left was.

Yes, that is a bald eagle sitting in the largest tree. I wasn’t kidding when I said these trees provided homes for everything from barred owls to flying squirrels. To the right of him, you can see where the big oak splits into two sections, creating a piece of tree trunk five feet thick.  Thank god these shysters came back and cut that down a bit for Mark.  He could never have cut it with his chainsaw, and it was NOT movable, without a bobcat or something like that to pick it up.  It weighed about as much as a block of granite.

So now you can see why I am so sad to lose these beautiful trees.  Having the mess of unprofessional, unscrupulous contractors do the job just added insult to injury.  But the real loss is the trees.  It breaks my heart, and makes me sad to know that the rest of the trees in our yard may not be around much longer, either.  Hopefully, they will last a few more years, though.  Fingers crossed, and prayers sent above.

10 thoughts on “As It Once Was…

  1. Two in the very front are left, SC, but they are very sparse at the top, having been deformed by the bulk of the huge tree that anchored the whole group. IF they don’t die, too (which is a distinct possibility), they may fill out on the side towards the house, where there are no branches currently growing at all. That’s my hope. We had to have a huge tree taken down in our backyard after Hurricane Charley, and the nearby trees which were pretty scrawny filled out fairly well. It will all depend on whether the two left survive long enough to “round” out at the top. I’m just praying they do. The lean away from the house toward the street, so if they start to come down, the roof isn’t in so much danger as from the other ones. They don’t shade the house at all, sadly.

    The biggest trees we have left are two very large ones planted in the easement along the road. They are beautiful, too, and hopefully have some time left. If we lose them, it’s possible the city would take them down, due to them not actually being in our yard. But I hope it doesn’t come to that.

    Like

  2. I’m so sorry about your loss of these trees,Marcia.
    I remember walking under those trees, when I went to pick up the roses.
    They provided such wonderful shade.

    Like

    • Thank you, Sue. I sure will miss these oaks! And it’s too bad you and your magic camera weren’t here to REALLY capture how awesome they were. My little cell phone pics didn’t do them justice, but at least I have something to remember them by.

      Like

    • Hi, Felix! Yeah, they really helped keep the house cooler. Now, with 100+ sun beating down on it for several months every year, I know our electric bills will go up. So they were useful as well as beautiful. I’m still sad. BUT. I’m planning a rock garden and birdbath and some other things to make the spot look prettier. I won’t be able to plant IN the ground, due to the big stumps and root system, but I have some other ideas. I will throw myself into those projects and try to focus on that instead of the loss. It’s all I can do.

      Like

    • Thank you, Sheri. I really do love trees. And waterfalls. My two “things” that make me feel all connected to the planet and the heavens. These oaks were such a pleasure, and made our little house look like more than it is. They will be missed every day. Now I have to look forward, and focus on what I’m going to do to “pretty up” that spot, now that it’s bare. (Well, except for the fourteen tons of TREE piled up on it, that is!) Nice of you to stop by.

      Like

  3. Maybe you were a Druid in a former life. No, wait. I think it’s a DRYAD. Aren’t they the ones who supposedly lived in trees? Oh, well. Whatever the stories are, I know I love my trees, and I would live in a forest any day. Preferably one on a mountainside in North Carolina. That must be why I’m setting my first book there.

    😀

    Trees and waterfalls, I tell ya. They are the BEST! And mine have had some wonderful things in them over the last 8 years. Perhaps if the last 2 survive and fill out with a big, leafy canopy, they will still support an assortment. Even as they are, I saw warblers moving through them on Sunday. Thanks for stopping by! Always nice to see you.

    Like

Say Hello To Granny!

