What’s Blooming In Your Garden Today?

In spite of the muggy heat and excess rain lately, I managed to find a couple of things blooming here and there.  Most everything else is buried under vines and weeds, waiting for my return to yard work.  I reckon it’ll keep a few more weeks.  In the meantime, here are a few pictures for your viewing pleasure.

Nothing is more colorful each morning than ruellia (also called Mexican Petunia, though it is neither from Mexico, nor a petunia).  While this plant is known to be an invasive species in Florida, please be assured that there is a non-invasive, sterile variety, and I only grow that one in my yard.  I will be happy to provide more info on that, if anyone is interested.  You can’t grow a tougher, more resilient plant.  And they’re pretty, too.

Here is an example of the one of the vines running amok in my garden this summer.  This is a volunteer native called Scarlet Morning Glory.  The flowers are only about an inch across, very pretty, and attractive to hummingbirds.  On the negative side, the vine will cover anything in its path.  But on the positive side, sort of, it dies completely every winter after the first heavy frost.  However, it seeds like crazy, so you will find yourself pulling babies all spring.  My advice is not to plant scarlet morning glory on purpose, but if it volunteers as this one did, and you find it running rampant in the late summer, you may as well enjoy it for awhile.   My thryallis peeking out from underneath this one it might disagree with me.

I found one last purslane blooming in a hypertufa bowl.  It looks pretty happy, where most of  its brothers and sisters have succumbed to way too much rain in recent weeks.  They will reseed a bit, here and there, and the parent plants will come back, but they never seem to  look as good as the originals purchased from the nursery.  At least not in my yard.  Other than that, they provide dependable color for a fairly long time before they begin to decline.

What’s blooming in YOUR yard today?

8 thoughts on “What’s Blooming In Your Garden Today?

  1. Beautiful pictures. I have one of those Mexican Petunias. I got it with your roses,by accident and it is not the invasive kind. I will transplant it away from the rose garden to a more appropiate place,now that I know it is not invasive. I have the invasive one,also and do not really care for it. The portulaca/purslane are beautiful. Mine have died and has not come back.
    I love your blog. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi, Felix! Great to see you here. Hope you’ll stop by often. Hmmmm. If your ruellia was in with one of my roses, it MIGHT be one from my neighbor’s yard. Hers pop up now and then in unexpected places. Hope it’s not. The sterile ones come from one particular nursery, and are sold at my local Home Depot. I’ll get you one of them so you can be SURE you have the non-invasive type.

    I haven’t had much luck with portulaca, but purslane do pretty well for me. Until they get really scruffy looking, like right now, from heat and too much rain. I don’t know why the yellow one is still looking that good.

    Come back and visit some more, and feel free to share the link with anyone you think might have an interest. I have lots more to put up, including a post of Mark’s brickwork, with lots of photos.

    Like

  3. Your garden looks wonderful in this heat, Marcia! (Hi Felix! I have the invasive Ruellia, too. Didn’t plant it – it just showed up.) That yellow purslane is sweet. Love it in that hypertufa-looking bowl… speaking of hypertufa… we NEED to learn how to do this!

    Big hugs,
    Nicki

    Like

  4. Hahaha! How many YEARS have we been “needing” to learn hypertufa now? Four? Five? Someday, right? And believe me when I say my backyard is overgrown & ugly right now. Even Mark noticed and asked when I was going to start pulling up vines and dead plants. The entryway to the Bali hut is only about 2 feet wide. The jungle is taking back the yard! So glad you stopped by, though. Thanks!

    Like

  5. Hey Marcia and Nicki, if you really want to learn hypertufa just let me know! I took a class about a year ago and have been ‘tufaing ever since! Love it, love it, love it! Lots of fun, creative and as many pots and pavers as you can stand!

    Your Friend
    Susan

    Like

  6. Oooh, learning hypertufa with Susan? What could be better? Nicki is coming to visit tomorrow, and we’ll definitely have to figure something out, and get back to you. Oh, and I forgot to tell you I have another new blog, too. If you are interested in books & reviews at all, check it out:
    Bookin’ It: http://marciameara.wordpress.com .

    Like

Say Hello To Granny!

